Moneycontrol PRO
you are here: HomeNewsIndia
Live now
auto refresh
December 24, 2019 / 11:01 AM IST

Jharkhand Election Results 2019 Highlights: Raghubar Das resigns as chief minister

Updates of the Jharkhand Vidhan Sabha election results 2019

Counting across all 81 Assembly constituencies has concluded. The JMM-Congress-RJD alliance has secured a majority.
  • December 24, 2019 / 10:59 AM IST

    This LIVE blog session has concluded. For updates on the government formation, follow our other LIVE blog here. Or, for the latest news, views and updates, click here.

  • December 23, 2019 / 09:36 PM IST
  • December 23, 2019 / 09:06 PM IST

    Raghubar Das after tendering his resignation as Jharkhand CM: People's mandate has not been in favour of BJP, but whatever has been the verdict of the ppl, we respect it. I hope Hemant Soren and his govt will work to fulfill the dreams of the people. (ANI)

  • December 23, 2019 / 08:24 PM IST

    Outgoing chief minister Raghubar Das in a tweet: I congratulate Hemant Soren and the newly elected legislators.

  • December 23, 2019 / 08:14 PM IST

    Raghubar Das meets Jharkhand Governor Draupadi Murmu at Raj Bhavan in Ranchi to tender his resignation from the post of chief minister. (CNN News18)

     Raghubar Das meets Jharkhand Governor Draupadi Murmu at Raj Bhavan in Ranchi to tender his resignation from the post of chief minister. (CNN News18)
  • December 23, 2019 / 08:00 PM IST

    BREAKING | Raghubar Das resigns as chief minister, CNN News18 has reported. 

  • December 23, 2019 / 07:47 PM IST

    Jharkhand Assembly Election Results | Update: Outgoing chief minister and BJP's Jamshedpur East candidate Raghubar Das has reached the Governor's House in Ranchi. (CNN News18)

  • December 23, 2019 / 07:32 PM IST

    Jharkhand Assembly Election Results | Update: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha's (JMM) Hemant Soren wins Dumka assembly constituency by margin of 13,188 votes and Barhait assembly constituency by margin of 25,740 votes. (ANI)

  • December 23, 2019 / 07:02 PM IST

    PM Modi: Congratulations to Hemant Soren Ji and the JMM-led alliance for the victory in the Jharkhand polls. Best wishes to them in serving the state.

    I thank the people of Jharkhand for having given BJP the opportunity to serve the state for many years. I also applaud the hardworking Party Karyakartas for their efforts. 

    We will continue serving the state and raising people-centric issues in the times to come.

  • December 23, 2019 / 07:00 PM IST

    With Jharkhand loss, BJP footprint shrinks to half from 2017 peak

    With Jharkhand joining the growing list of states slipping out of BJP's rule, the party now governs mere 35 per cent of the country's landmass in comparison to over 71 per cent during its peak in 2017 when it was in power in the entire Hindi-speaking heartland.

    Its string of losses in states despite the massive victory in the April-May Lok Sabha elections may force the party's top brass to revisit its strategy for the assembly polls as it prepares for the upcoming battles in Delhi and Bihar.

    The percentage of population being governed by the BJP in the states, either on its own or with its allies, now stands at around 43 per cent from over 69 per cent two years back, data analysis show.

    Click here to read more.

  • December 23, 2019 / 06:30 PM IST

    Party-wise tally at 6 pm

    Total seats: 81
    Results declared: 10

    JMM- 3

    BJP  3

    Congress - 3

    AJSU party - 1

    Trends available: 71

    Parties leading:

    BJP  -  25

    JMM  25

    Cong- 11

    RJD - 1

    JVM-P  3

    AJSU party  2

    CPI (ML-Liberation)  1

    NCP -1

    Independents  2

  • December 23, 2019 / 06:22 PM IST

    Union Home Minister and BJP President Amit Shah: We respect the mandate given by the people of Jharkhand. We express our heartfelt gratitude to the people of Jharkhand for giving us the opportunity to serve them for five years. The BJP will always be committed to the development of the state. I also thank all karyakartas for their hard work. 

ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark