Moneycontrol Be a Pro
Get App
you are here: HomeNewsIndia
Live now
Oct 24, 2019 09:59 PM IST | Source:

Bypoll Results 2019 highlights: Congress wrests Jhabua seat in Madhya Pradesh from BJP

Live updates of the 2019 Assembly and Lok Sabha bypolls. Counting of votes is underway

  • Oct 24, 06:30 PM (IST)

    Bypoll: Morale booster for ruling LDF after massive LS drubbing

    The ruling CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front lost its sitting seat, Aroor in a nail-biting photo finish when the results of the bypolls to five assembly constituencies were out on Thursday.

    But, the wresting of two traditional strongholds of the opposition Congress-led United Democratic Front, that too with a resounding win, has given them an upper hand in the bypolls, which is considered a curtain raiser to the 2021 Assembly elections.

    The LDF candidates won two seats- Vattiyoorkavu and Konni--while the UDF nominees retained Ernakulam and Manjeswaram and wrested Aroor.

    The UDF failed to repeat its magical performance in the Lok Sabha polls though it retained two of its sitting segments and managed to wrest one seat from the ruling front. (PTI)

  • Oct 24, 06:08 PM (IST)

    Rajasthan bypolls: Cong wins Mandawa seat, RLP retains Khinwsar

    The ruling Congress in Rajasthan on Thursday increased its tally in the state legislature by one after winning the assembly bypolls to Mandawa while MP Hanuman Beniwal's Rashtriya Loktantrik Party retained the Khinwsar seat.

    Both seats had gone to bypolls on Monday.  

    Congress candidate Rita Chaudhary won the Mandawa seat with a margin of 33,704 votes while RLP candidate Narayan Beniwal won Khinwsar by just 4,630 votes. 

    Chaudhary defeated BJP's Sushila Sigra in Mandawa."I received a huge support from women and the youth this time and I was sure of my victory," Rita Chaudhary said in Jhunjhunu.  

    Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot congratulated Chaudhary for the victory.  

    AICC general secretary Avinash Pande congratulated the government and the party for the win in Mandawa, saying it was the victory of people and party workers.

  • Oct 24, 05:46 PM (IST)

    Madhya Pradesh bypoll: Congress wrests Jhabua seat from BJP

    The Congress has wrested its traditional Jhabua Assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh from the BJP in the bypoll for the constituency. Congress candidate and former Union minister Kantilal Bhuria won by margin of over 27,804 votes, defeating BJP's Bhanu Bhuria, who was contesting his maiden election, an official said.
      Kantilal Bhuria polled 96,155 votes while his BJP rival got 68,351 votes. The Congress lost the seat to BJP in last year's Assembly polls when BJP's G S Damor defeated Kantilal Bhuria's son Vikrant Bhuria by 10,437 votes.
      However, the BJP leader fielded Damor in the general elections from Ratlam-Jhabua Lok Sabha seat, which he won by defeating Kantilal Bhuria. Later, Damor resigned from Jhabua assembly seat which necessitated by-poll in the tribal-dominated constituency.

    – PTI

  • Oct 24, 04:39 PM (IST)

    UP Assembly Bypoll result: The 175 Lucknow Cantt seat has been won by Suresh Chandra Tiwari of BJP, with a margin of 35,428 votes; Kirat Singh of BJP wins Gangoh AC Bypoll with a margin of 5,419 votes. Results in progress of the remaining 8 ACs where polling was held on 21st Oct.

    – EC

  • Oct 24, 04:17 PM (IST)

    BJP putting pressure on DM to reduce lead of Cong candidate in Gangoh bypoll: Priyanka Gandhi

    Congress general secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra has accused the BJP of trying to subvert the people's verdict by putting pressure on the district magistrate to reduce the lead of her party's candidate in the Gangoh bypoll in Uttar Pradesh.

    "The BJP is full of arrogance that it is trying to change the decision of the people by reducing the Congress candidate's margin at the counting centre in Gangoh. A BJP minister in Uttar Pradesh has called the DM five times to direct him to reduce the lead. This is an insult to democracy," she tweeted.

    "The Uttar Pradesh Congress will fight this out strongly. The Election Commission should hold a thorough impartial inquiry into the incident," Gandhi said. 
    Bypolls are being held in 11 assembly seats in the state.

    – PTI

  • Oct 24, 04:05 PM (IST)

    JUST IN | PM Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister and BJP President Amit Shah will meet and address the party workers at the party headquarters this evening.

  • Oct 24, 04:04 PM (IST)

    SP wins Zaidpur Assembly bypoll

    Samajwadi Party's Gaurav Kumar has won the Zaidpur assembly bypoll seat defeating the BJP candidate. Kumar defeated BJP's candidate Amrish by a margin of 4,165 votes.

    – PTI

  • Oct 24, 03:54 PM (IST)

    Bihar bypoll results: RJD wrests Simri Bakhtiarpur seat from JD(U)

    The opposition Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has wrested the Simri Bakhtiyarpur assembly seat from the ruling JD(U) in Bihar.

    RJD's Zafar Alam defeated JD(U)candidate Arun Kumar by a comprehensive margin of 15,508 votes. The by-election to the Assembly seat was necessitated after former state minister and JD(U) MLA Dinesh Chandra Yadav was elected to the Lok Sabha from Madhepura seat.

    – PTI

  • Oct 24, 03:41 PM (IST)

    Counting in progress for the Satara Bypoll result – NCP candidate leading as yet with 79694 votes; also in Samastipur (SC) - Lok Jan Shakti Party candidate leading with 1,02,080 votes as of 03:30 pm.

    – EC

  • Oct 24, 03:31 PM (IST)

    JUST IN | Alpesh Thakor, who had defected to the BJP from the Congress and was seeking re-election from Radhanpur assembly constiuency, has lost. 

Follow us on
Available On