Moneycontrol PRO
HomeSportsCricketMCC clarifies Akash Deep’s ‘no ball’ that dismissed Joe Root: Controversy laid to rest

MCC clarifies Akash Deep’s ‘no ball’ that dismissed Joe Root: Controversy laid to rest

The incident took place late on Day 4 of the second Test in Birmingham, which India won by a record 336 runs to level the series 1-1.

July 08, 2025 / 16:17 IST
MCC clarifies Akash Deep’s ‘no ball’ that dismissed Joe Root

Three days after a controversial ball by India pacer Akash Deep that bowled Joe Root, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) passed it's verdict on the matter on Monday, which has been heavily argued. The incident took place late on Day 4 of the second Test in Birmingham, which India won by a record 336 runs to level the series 1-1.

Alison Mitchell, a BBC TMS commentator, noted that it was a backfoot no-ball shortly after Akash had knocked Root for 6 with an angling delivery, raising the possibility that an umpiring error had cost England a crucial wicket. She said: “The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide off the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!”

Her comment caused a stir on social media, as fans posted videos and screenshots implying that Akash's back foot had made contact with the return crease. In his stint with JioStar commentary, former England batsman Jonathan Trott reinforced the notion.

Also Read | Nike vs Adidas: Shubman Gill vest at Edgbaston raises eyebrows

But the MCC made it clear that where the foot falls first is what counts. Even if the foot slides over the return crease later, the delivery is still acceptable as long as the first point of contact is behind it.

An MCC spokesperson told Cricbuzz: "On Day 4 of India's Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no ball.

"While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law."

Also Read | 'Before Test Gautam Gambhir messed up XI, after the win Shubman Gill era begins': Ex-KKR star attacks critics

In order to provide more context, MCC cited Law 21.5.1, which deals with back-foot no-ball, stating that: "For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler's back foot must land within and not touching the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery."

"MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball.

"Clearly, at the point Deep's foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery," the MCC clarified.


Meanwhile, in contrast to the needless controversy being caused by the English media in the UK, former India pacer Irfan Pathan went into great length about how Akash Deep's delivery to clean bowl Root was entirely legal. Pathan ended the argument by giving broadcasters a breakdown video that demonstrates why Akash Deep's speech was legal.

After making the initial contact with the back foot within the crease, Akash Deep's heel fell outside of it, the former India pacer explained. It is not a back-foot no-ball since the first foot contact with the pitch is considered for determining a back-foot no-ball.

There were pictures floating around showing Akash Deep's rear foot going too far. Pathan did, however, slow down the run-up video to show how Akash Deep's toes first touched the pitch inside. His heel then touches down outside.

“There is a controversy being created by English media and then also on social media. It’s been shown that the ball was a no-ball. Lekin asli kahaani kya hai? (But what’s the real story?) The real story starts a few frames before (the photo shared on social media). The contact point is what matters. If the contact point was on the line, then it would be a no-ball. But because the contact point is inside, it is a legal delivery,” Pathan said in a video for Sony Sports Network.

“That’s why it’s not a no-ball. Legally he’s taken a good wicket. Skillfully, he took the wicket. The delivery from Akash Deep — which we said was wide of the crease — his foot on the back crease is out. Looks like by about two inches. Maybe a little bit more. But comfortably. So, his back foot, which needs to land within the line, just taps about two inches over the line. Not picked up!” Pathan added.

Moneycontrol News
first published: Jul 8, 2025 04:17 pm

Discover the latest Business News, Sensex, and Nifty updates. Obtain Personal Finance insights, tax queries, and expert opinions on Moneycontrol or download the Moneycontrol App to stay updated!

Subscribe to Tech Newsletters

  • On Saturdays

    Find the best of Al News in one place, specially curated for you every weekend.

  • Daily-Weekdays

    Stay on top of the latest tech trends and biggest startup news.

Advisory Alert: It has come to our attention that certain individuals are representing themselves as affiliates of Moneycontrol and soliciting funds on the false promise of assured returns on their investments. We wish to reiterate that Moneycontrol does not solicit funds from investors and neither does it promise any assured returns. In case you are approached by anyone making such claims, please write to us at grievanceofficer@nw18.com or call on 02268882347