you are here: HomeNewsIndia

90 / 90

(46 to WIN)
  • BJP15
  • INC68
  • OTH7

230 / 230

(116 to WIN)
  • BJP109
  • INC+114
  • OTH7

40 / 40

(21 to WIN)
  • MNF26
  • INC5
  • OTH9

199 / 200

(101 to WIN)
  • BJP73
  • INC+100
  • OTH26

119 / 119

(61 to WIN)
  • TRS88
  • INC+21
  • OTH10
Live now
Dec 17, 2018 01:09 PM IST | Source:

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Result 2018 Highlights: Decision on CM to be taken tomorrow, says Mallikarjun Kharge

Live updates of the 2018 Chhattisgarh Assembly election result. Congress is hoping to oust CM Raman Singh-led BJP government in the state

  • Dec 15, 07:07 PM (IST)

    Chief Minister probable Tamradhwaj Sahu has threatened to resign from the party if not made the CM, News18 has reported quoting sources. Sahu is one of the four front-runners for the top post, along with state chief Bhupesh Baghel, Leader of Opposition in the outgoing Assembly TS Singh Deo and former Union minister Charan Das Mahant. 

  • Dec 15, 07:05 PM (IST)
  • Dec 14, 06:14 PM (IST)
  • Dec 14, 05:49 PM (IST)

    Mallikarjun Kharge, the observer appointed for Chhattisgarh, said that Rahul Gandhi will decide the Chief Minister and announce his decision tomorrow, News18 has reported. 

  • Dec 14, 05:30 PM (IST)

    With the appointment of Kamal Nath as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh and Ashok Gehlot for Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh is the only state which is yet to get its CM. Probables for the post, Bhupesh Baghel, TS Singh Deo and Charan Das Mahant had reportedly had a meeting with Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Delhi today. While Baghel and Singh Deo are considered to be front-runners, Tamradhwaj Sahu is being considered as the dark horse. 

  • Dec 14, 05:05 PM (IST)
  • Dec 13, 09:57 PM (IST)
  • Dec 13, 09:27 PM (IST)

    Chhattisgarh CM probable TS Singh Deo has been called to Delhi, News18 has reported. 

  • Dec 13, 09:01 PM (IST)

    Decision regarding CM candidate to be taken tomorrow: Mallikarjun Kharge 

    Congress-appointed observer Mallikarjun Kharge has said that the meeting with Congress president Rahul Gandhi "has been postponed for tomorrow". He said that a decision regarding the state's CM candidate will be taken tomorrow. 

  • Dec 13, 08:28 PM (IST)

    Mallikarjun Kharge and P.L. Punia have reached Congress president Rahul Gandhi's residence, News18 has reported. Kharge has been appointed as the observer for Chhattisgarh while Punia is the general secretary in-charge. 

  • Dec 13, 08:28 PM (IST)

    Mallikarjun Kharge and P.L. Punia have reached Congress president Rahul Gandhi's residence, News18 has reported. Kharge has been appointed as the observer for Chhattisgarh while Punia is the general secretary in-charge. 

  • Dec 13, 06:01 PM (IST)

    Post the rout in three Hindi heartland states of Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan, the BJP has decided in its officer bearers' meet that PM Modi would tour 122 constituencies where the BJP presence is poor, News18 has reported. The saffron party has decided to focus on organisational strength.  

  • Dec 13, 04:52 PM (IST)

    Clashes outside state chief Bhupesh Baghel's residence 

    Clashes have broken outside Congress state chief Bhupesh Baghel's residence, News18 has reported. Baghel is at a frontrunner for the Chief Ministerial post in the state. 

  • Dec 13, 03:46 PM (IST)

    New Chhattisgarh Assembly: Younger, more educated and higher number of women representatives

    Of the 90 members elected to the assembly, 13 are women, three more than the last Assembly.

    The number of youth leaders, meanwhile, has increased a by a good 10. The 2013 Assembly had six MLAs between the ages of 25-40 as opposed to the newly-elected Assembly, which has over 16 legislators in that age group.

    Read the full article here. 

  • Dec 13, 01:53 PM (IST)

    Even as the suspense on who would lead Chhattisgarh continues, all four candidates in the fray are state heavyweights with things working for them on different fronts. Bhupesh Baghel, according to party leaders in the state, wields cadre-level influence while Tamradhwaj Sahu, who was appointed to lead the party's OBC cell and gather Sahu influence, is known to be an untainted leader close to top Congress leadership.

    TS Singh Deo, belonging to an erstwhile royal family, was also one of the richest candidates who reportedly helped a number of MLAs, consolidating influence within the party. Deo is the Leader of Opposition in the outgoing Assembly. He had also helped in charting the party manifesto and had traveled across the state before the elections. Charan Das Mahant is a former Union minister and a Member of Parliament.

  • Dec 13, 11:41 AM (IST)

    Rahul Gandhi’s meeting with observers is underway.

  • Dec 13, 10:48 AM (IST)

    “We are taking inputs from MLAs and party workers. You will see a chief minister soon,” Rahul Gandhi has told the media while on his way to the crucial meeting called to pick CMs for Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

  • Dec 13, 10:41 AM (IST)
  • Dec 13, 07:47 AM (IST)

    Congress is expected to announce Chhattisgarh's new Chief Minister today. Leader of Opposition in the outgoing assembly TS Singh Deo, Congress' single MP from the state Tamradhwaj Sahu, state unit chief Bhupesh Baghel and former union minister Charandas Mahant are in fray.

  • Dec 12, 10:09 PM (IST)
  • Dec 12, 08:15 PM (IST)
  • Dec 12, 06:34 PM (IST)

    13 women members in new Assembly. 

    Thirteen women have been elected to the Chhattisgarh Assembly in 2018, a rise from the 10 and 11 women who became MLAs after the 2013 and 2008 polls respectively, a state election official said.

    Counting of votes concluded for the 90-member House with results showing Congress winning 68 seats and BJP being reduced to 15. (PTI) 

    Read the full article here. 

  • Dec 12, 11:28 AM (IST)

  • Dec 12, 10:14 AM (IST)

    Congress to pick Chhattisgarh CM today

    The Congress in Chhattisgarh will hold its legislature party meeting today to decide on the next chief minister of the state.
    Congress' Lok Sabha member Tamradhwaj Sahu, who successfully contested the Assembly election from Durg Rural seat, state party chief Bhupesh Baghel and senior leader T S Singhdeo are front-runners for the top post, suggest reports.

  • Dec 12, 10:06 AM (IST)

    After the counting, here's how the final result looks:

    Congress: 68
    BJP: 15
    Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J): 5
    BSP: 2

Follow us on
Available On
PCI DSS Compliant