you are here: HomeNewsIndia
Live now
auto refresh
October 24, 2019 / 10:19 PM IST

Haryana Election Result 2019 highlights: With this second chance, we’ll work harder than ever before, says PM Modi

Live updates of the 2019 Haryana Vidhan Sabha election results

Good morning! Hello and welcome to Moneycontrol’s LIVE coverage of the 2019 Haryana Assembly elections.

This LIVE blog will bring you the latest updates as votes are counted throughout the state and the results are declared.

When are the results expected?

Counting of votes will begin at 8.00 am across Haryana. Just like the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the final

results are expected to be slightly delayed as match of VVPAT slips would take time.

However, with known leads by around 11.00 am, the result is likely to be clear by early afternoon.

Voter turnout

Voter turnout for the Legislative Assembly election on October 21 (Monday) was recorded 65.7 percent, according to the Election Commission of India (EC).

This was lower than the 76.5 percent turnout recorded in 2014.

Here’s a low-down on the political situation in Haryana

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar-led BJP is hoping to retain power.

It is being challenged by a fractured Opposition. Congress is being led by former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda. This is the first Assembly election for Dushyant Chautala’s Jannayak Janata Party. He had formed JJP after splitting from his grandfather’s Indian National Lok Dal in 2018. BJP’s partner in Punjab — the Shiromani Akali Dal — has allied with INLD.

Some of the other parties in fray are Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), the Bahujan Samaj Party and Yogendra Yadav’s Swaraj India.

During the campaign Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP National President Amit Shah, among other BJP leaders had held rallies extensively in the state.

Re-polling held in 5 booths

Re-polling was held in five polling booths of Haryana yesterday.

Some "shortcomings" were noticed after which re-polling was ordered in these booths, Haryana’s joint Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Dr Inder Jeet had said on October 22.

The re-polling was held in booth number 71 of Uchana Kalan Assembly constituency in Jind district, 161 of Beri constituency in Jhajjar district, 28 of Narnaul Assembly constituency in Narnaul district, 18 of Kosli in district Rewari and booth number 113 of Prithla in Faridabad district.

  • October 24, 2019 / 09:39 PM IST

    2 Independent candidates from Sirsa taken to Delhi by BJP MP

    Two of the eight Independent candidates, who registered a victory in the Haryana Assembly polls on Thursday, were taken to Delhi by a BJP MP, sources said.

    Independents Gopal Kanda and Ranjeet Singh were taken to Delhi by a chartered plane by Sirsa MP Sunita Duggal.

    Kanda and Singh told the media before boarding the plane that they will support the party which will work for the development of Sirsa.

    Duggal refused to comment on rushing the two Independent candidates to the national capital. All she said was, "It is an internal matter of the BJP."

    While Kanda won from Sirsa, Singh, the brother of former Haryana chief minister Om Prakash Chautala, won the Rania seat. (PTI)

  • October 24, 2019 / 09:31 PM IST

    Update: BJP sources told News18 that there will be no change in the CM faces in both Haryana and Maharashtra. 

  • October 24, 2019 / 09:07 PM IST

    Update: BJP's Parliamentary board meeting has concluded, and the board has authorised BJP national president Amit Shah to take all future decisions regarding Haryana and Maharashtra, News18 has reported. 

  • October 24, 2019 / 08:58 PM IST

    Update: Meanwhile, senior Congress leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda has said that he will meet Congress chief Sonia Gandhi tomorrow to discuss the next steps. 

  • October 24, 2019 / 08:57 PM IST

    Dushyant Chautala on alliance: It will be discussed only in the national executive meeting tomorrow at 10 am and after deliberations with elected MLAs. 

  • October 24, 2019 / 08:43 PM IST

    Gobind Kanda, brother of Independent MLA Gopal Kanda: 2009 has repeated itself in 2019. Instead of Congress it is BJP today, with victory on 40 seats. Gopal Kanda has left for Delhi with 6 MLAs. They will form BJP's govt. (ANI)

  • October 24, 2019 / 08:14 PM IST

    Manohar Lal Khattar is unlikely to meet the Haryana Governor today, News18 has reported.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:52 PM IST

    PM Modi has concluded his address to party workers at the BJP headquarters.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:51 PM IST

    PM Modi: Once again, I would like to congratulate Devendra ji and Manohar ji’s teams. I would like to wish the people a very happy Diwali.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:49 PM IST

    PM Modi: Now that you have given us the opportunity to serve you again, I would like to assure people of both states that we will work harder than before.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:47 PM IST

    PM Modi: In 2014, BJP and Shiv Sena came together after the election. It was the people’s decision. This time too, people of Maharashtra have elected us with a clear majority.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:45 PM IST

    PM Modi: Before 2014, BJP was always a junior party of the Shiv Sena in Maharashtra. For 50 years, no CM was able to serve the people for a full five-year term. Devendra Fadnavis got the opportunity to serve for full five years. Maharashtra and especially Mumbai contribute immensely to the country’s economy. Political stability is important there.