Moneycontrol PRO
HomeSportsCricketIND W vs PAK W controversial run-out explained: Pakistan batter given out despite grounding bat; check what rules say

IND W vs PAK W controversial run-out explained: Pakistan batter given out despite grounding bat; check what rules say

India celebrated a wicket out of nowhere as Pakistan skipper Fatima Sana was spotted having a chat with the fourth umpire.

October 05, 2025 / 21:06 IST
IND W vs PAK W controversial run-out explained

The India vs Pakistan clash at the ongoing ICC Women's World Cup was filled with dramatic moments, and one among the many led to confusion in the latter's camp. The incident took place during the 248-run chase as Pakistan opener Muneeba Ali was declared run-out after a brief brain-fade moment.

It took place in the final delivery of the fourth over bowled by Kranti Gaud. It began with Gaud bowling a full delivery that struck Ali's pads. This led to the Indian fielders appeal in unison for a LBW and in between there was a direct-hit at the stumps by Deepti Sharma.

A momentarily lapse in concentration saw Ali wander out of her crease. Replays confirmed that she grounded her bat but it had came up right when the ball lit up the zing bails. After close examination by the third umpire, the batter was given out and Ali was clearly dissatisfied with the call.

Also Read | Women’s World Cup: Insects bring abrupt halt in IND W vs PAK W clash at Colombo; play resumes after fumigation

As India celebrated a wicket out of nowhere there was more drama waiting. Pakistan skipper Fatima Sana was spotted having a chat with the fourth umpire as Ali stood nearby. She was later shown sitting dejected in the chair near the dugout, having been out for 2(12).

Ali was declared out as per the law 30 of the playing conditions, which states:

"30.1 A batter shall be considered to be out of her ground unless some part of her person or bat is grounded behind the popping crease at that end."

"30.1.2 However, a batter shall not be considered to be out of her ground if, in running or diving towards her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of her person or bat, or between the bat and person."

Since Ali wasn't running or diving, she was considered to be out of her ground and the decision was right as per the laws of the game.

Meanwhile, if India had taken a DRS, she anyways would have been adjudged LBW as the ball was pitched on the line and was striking the stumps.

Following her dismissal, Pakistan lost two more wickets and were playing at 26/3 at the end of 12 overs.

first published: Oct 5, 2025 09:06 pm

Discover the latest Business News, Sensex, and Nifty updates. Obtain Personal Finance insights, tax queries, and expert opinions on Moneycontrol or download the Moneycontrol App to stay updated!

Subscribe to Tech Newsletters

  • On Saturdays

    Find the best of Al News in one place, specially curated for you every weekend.

  • Daily-Weekdays

    Stay on top of the latest tech trends and biggest startup news.

Advisory Alert: It has come to our attention that certain individuals are representing themselves as affiliates of Moneycontrol and soliciting funds on the false promise of assured returns on their investments. We wish to reiterate that Moneycontrol does not solicit funds from investors and neither does it promise any assured returns. In case you are approached by anyone making such claims, please write to us at grievanceofficer@nw18.com or call on 02268882347