Sri Lanka and India engaged in a thriller in the final Super Four match at the Asia Cup 2025. Although the result was inconsequential as the finalists had already been decided, both teams gave it all to make it one of the most exciting contests of the continental showdown so far. Batting first, India piled a massive 202/5 in 20 overs - a total which appeared more than enough to pounce the Lankans but it wasn't the case. Abhishek Sharma maintained his blazing form, and Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson, Axar Patel made some vital contributions as the innings progressed.
Sri Lanka, in response, produced a neck-to-neck battle and by the time 20 overs were done they had accumulated the same number of runs as India, forcing the match into the Super Over.
Super Over in itself is drama but it further heightened when Dasun Shanaka was ruled not-out despite being clear run-out after Samson struck the stumps. It led to confusion as captain Suryakumar Yadav was seen having a lengthy chat with the umpires understanding the decision.
Also Read | Asia Cup 2025: Form slump of Suryakumar Yadav a major concern for India before final against Pakistan
Here's what happenedShanaka tried to steal a single after missing a wide yorker from Arshdeep Singh, and the ball was collected by Samson behind the stumps. Upon noticing it Samson showed great game awareness and struck the stumps with an underarm throw, and both the Lankan batters were clearly outside the crease.
However, amid the chaos, Arshdeep went up in an appeal for a caught-behind, and the umpire too believed there was a nick and signalled out. All this happened before the stumps were rattled and Shanaka upon reaching the other end immediately asked for a referral.
Replays confirmed there was no bat involved, so Shanaka was ruled not-out for the caught-behind and later for the run-out too. The umpire giving Shanaka out for caught-behind had already made the ball dead and it was before Samson's throw had struck the stumps.
Here's what the rule saysMCC's law states that "the ball will be deemed to be dead from the instant of the incident causing the dismissal".
Also Read | India vs West Indies Tests: Karun Nair to Ishan Kishan - Players who missed out and why
Head coach Sanath Jayasuriya reacts"According to the rules, if you appeal for the catch, then Dasun could go up to the third umpire. It was the first decision that counts always, not the second. So he went for the referral, and it was not out. That's what happened. But overall, I think there are a few grey areas [in terms of the rules at large] that they [officials] have to finetune a bit."
Coming back to the matchMeanwhile, Shanaka was out the next ball as this time he sliced another wide and full delivery towards the third-man region and was caught. Sri Lanka managed 2 runs in the Super Over, which India chased down in the first ball to keep their 100 percent record intact in the tournament.
Find the best of Al News in one place, specially curated for you every weekend.
Stay on top of the latest tech trends and biggest startup news.