Moneycontrol PRO
you are here: HomeNewsIndia
Live now
auto refresh
June 02, 2019 / 09:01 AM IST

Lok Sabha election result 2019 highlights: Results may be delayed by 3-4 hours due to VVPAT counting, says EC

Updates of the 2019 Lok Sabha election. Exit polls have predicted a big win for NDA. Counting of votes will happen on May 23

Welcome to the Lok Sabha election 2019 coverage. This blog tracks the latest developments from the general election.

The BJP reacted with jubilation at the exit polls, which forecast a return of the NDA government, saying that they show a huge positive vote for Prime Minister Narendra Modi, but opposition parties rejected the forecast.

Narendra Modi is returning to power with a bang,

silencing sceptics and stunning opponents, with the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) likely to win 336 seats in General Elections 2019, according to a comprehensive News18-Ipsos exit poll.

The Election Commission of India (EC) on March 10 announced that the Lok Sabha polls will be held in seven phases. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partners are making a bid to retain power. This is amid efforts by Opposition several parties, including the Rahul Gandhi-led Congress, to put a united fight.
  • May 22, 2019 / 07:01 PM IST
  • May 13, 2020 / 02:42 PM IST

    <iframe class="embedly-embed" src="//" width="600" height="338" scrolling="no" title="YouTube embed" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; fullscreen" allowfullscreen="true"></iframe>

  • May 23, 2019 / 11:03 AM IST
  • May 22, 2019 / 07:17 PM IST

    Results may be delayed in Gujarat by 3-4 hrs due to VVPAT counting 

    Election authorities said Wednesday that declaration of results of 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat may get delayed by around 3 to 4 hours due to counting of voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) slips.

    VVPAT slips of five randomly selected Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be counted in every Assembly segment after EVM votes are counted, said the state's Chief Electoral Officer S Murali Krishna.

    Each of the 26 Lok Sabha seats has six to seven assembly segments.

    – PTI

  • May 22, 2019 / 07:10 PM IST

    Former Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora says EVMs cannot be tampered with 

    Former Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora told ANI, " EVMs can't be tampered with. EVM security protocol is so strict whenever a strong room has to be opened, representatives of all political parties have to be there, machines are taken out in their presence, mock poll is also conducted.

    In fact when making EVM ready for the polling, a mock poll is again conducted at polling station where all the polling agents are asked to vote & then count, so all these arrangements ensure that EVMs can't be tampered with.

  • May 22, 2019 / 06:29 PM IST
  • May 22, 2019 / 05:25 PM IST
  • May 22, 2019 / 03:30 PM IST

    A look at total number of candidates fielded by national parties such as BJP, Congress, BSP, TMC and others.

     A look at total number of candidates fielded by national parties such as BJP, Congress, BSP, TMC and others.
  • May 22, 2019 / 02:58 PM IST
  • May 22, 2019 / 02:56 PM IST
  • May 22, 2019 / 01:48 PM IST

    NEWS18 alert:  As per the opposition’s demand, EVM counting may begin post noon or evening. Opposition has demanded counting of 5 VVPATs of polling booth to be matched with EVM before the counting of votes. If opposition demands are accepted, then the trends cannot be expected before evening and might take 2-3 day for the full results to be declared: EC source

  • May 22, 2019 / 01:27 PM IST
ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark