Moneycontrol PRO
Upcoming Event:Attend Quants League - 5 Days Live Algorithmic Options Trading Virtual Conference @ just Rs. 600/- brought to you by Moneycontrol Pro. Register Now!
you are here: HomeNewsIndia

Puducherry Election Result 2021 | Kamaraj Nagar Assembly Constituency: BJP candidate A. Johnkumar wins by 7229 votes

Puducherry Election Result 2021 | A. Johnkumar wins against M. O. H. F. Shahjahan by 7229 vote in Kamaraj Nagar assembly constituency.

May 02, 2021 / 04:11 PM IST

Puducherry Assembly Election 2021 Yanam LIVE Updates: BJP candidate A. Johnkumar wins against Indian National Congress' M. O. H. F. Shahjahan by 7229 votes

Amid the second wave of the novel coronavirus pandemic, counting of votes in in Puducherry. A. Johnkumar wins against M. O. H. F. Shahjahan by 7229 vote in Kamaraj Nagar assembly constituency.

It is to be noted that counting is in progress and the lead stands to sway.

Follow our LIVE blog for the latest updates of the 2021 Puducherry assembly election result

A. Johnkumar had won the Kamaraj Nagar seat in 2019 (Bye-election) on a Indian National Congress ticket and on February 16, 2021 he resigned from his MLA post because lack of interest with Congress government and the chief minister. He later joined BJP.


M. O. H. F. Shahjahan was a Revenue, transport, IT, minority affairs Minister of Pondicherry.

Kamaraj Nagar is a legislative assembly constituency in the Union territory of Puducherry in India. Kamaraj Nagar assembly constituency was part of Puducherry (Lok Sabha constituency).

In the previous elections in 2016, the election brought a change of power as the All India N.R. Congress (AINRC), which had formed the government under N. Rangaswamy, lost its majority to the Indian National Congress (INC), led by V. Narayanasamy.

The fifteenth legislative assembly election was held on April 6, 2021 to elect members from 30 constituencies of the Legislative Assembly in the union territory of Puducherry in India.

In the previous elections in 2016 Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as Single Largest Party. with 15 seats, with the support of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) the government was formed.

Counting of votes for the assembly polls is also underway across Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and the West Bengal.

Follow Moneycontrol’s full coverage of the 2021 assembly election here
Moneycontrol News

stay updated

Get Daily News on your Browser
ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark