Moneycontrol PRO
Upcoming Event:Attend Algo Convention Live, 2 Days & 12+ Speakers at best offer Rs.999/-, exclusive for Moneycontrol Pro subscribers. Register now!
you are here: HomeNewsIndia

Coronavirus hotspots | Here are the Red, Orange and Green zone districts after May 3 as per new guidelines

Districts in India have been categorised as 'red', 'orange' and 'green' zones to help decide on easing of lockdown-related restrictions. Read on to know how the classification has been done

May 29, 2020 / 12:33 PM IST

The government has updated the list of hotspots across the country after a secretary level video conference meeting on April 30 with the states for the week after May 3.

As per a letter released by the Union Health Ministry, "The districts were earlier designated as hotspots / red-zones, orange zones and green zones primarily based on the cumulative cases reported and the doubling rate.

Since recovery rates have gone up, the districts are now being designated across various zones duly broad-basing the criteria."

Based on the new guidelines issued by the Ministry of Health, all districts in the country have been classified as hotspots and non-hotspots based on whether or not confirmed COVID-19 cases have been reported there.

Moreover, it says that the classification is multi-factorial and takes into

consideration incidence of cases, doubling rate, extent of testing and surveillance feedback to classify the districts.

A district will be considered under Green Zone, if there are no confirmed cases so far or there is no reported case since last 21 days in the district.


COVID-19 Vaccine

Frequently Asked Questions

View more
How does a vaccine work?

A vaccine works by mimicking a natural infection. A vaccine not only induces immune response to protect people from any future COVID-19 infection, but also helps quickly build herd immunity to put an end to the pandemic. Herd immunity occurs when a sufficient percentage of a population becomes immune to a disease, making the spread of disease from person to person unlikely. The good news is that SARS-CoV-2 virus has been fairly stable, which increases the viability of a vaccine.

How many types of vaccines are there?

There are broadly four types of vaccine — one, a vaccine based on the whole virus (this could be either inactivated, or an attenuated [weakened] virus vaccine); two, a non-replicating viral vector vaccine that uses a benign virus as vector that carries the antigen of SARS-CoV; three, nucleic-acid vaccines that have genetic material like DNA and RNA of antigens like spike protein given to a person, helping human cells decode genetic material and produce the vaccine; and four, protein subunit vaccine wherein the recombinant proteins of SARS-COV-2 along with an adjuvant (booster) is given as a vaccine.

What does it take to develop a vaccine of this kind?

Vaccine development is a long, complex process. Unlike drugs that are given to people with a diseased, vaccines are given to healthy people and also vulnerable sections such as children, pregnant women and the elderly. So rigorous tests are compulsory. History says that the fastest time it took to develop a vaccine is five years, but it usually takes double or sometimes triple that time.

View more

Here is the letter outlining the zones according to states:

But, what are these hotspots and non-hotspot areas? And, what are the ‘red’, ‘orange’ and ‘green’ zones as often described in news reports? Here’s all you need to know:

Hotspots, non-hotspots and non-infected districts have been interchangeably used as ‘red’, ‘orange’ and ‘green’ zones, respectively.

Hotspots/Red zones

These are areas reporting a large number of cases or high growth rates such as Mumbai and Pune in Maharashtra, New Delhi or Indore in Madhya Pradesh.

Inclusion criteria:
> Highest case-load districts contributing to over 80 percent of cases in India, or
> Highest case-load districts contributing to more than 80 percent of cases for each state in the country, or

> Districts with doubling rate at less than four days (calculated every Monday for last seven days, to be determined by the state government).

On April 15, there were 170 hotspots in the country. This included 123 hotspot districts with large outbreaks and 47 hotspot districts with clusters.

Is your city a COVID-19 hotspot? Find out here (as of April 28)

Orange zones

Districts that do not have enough confirmed cases to meet the ‘red zone’, but are being seen as potential hotspots, are part of the ‘orange zone’.

On April 15, there were 207 non-hotspot districts in the country with clusters.

A hotspot can be categorised as a non-hotspot area if no new confirmed case is reported there for 14 consecutive days. Further, a non-hotspot area can become a ‘green zone’ if no new confirmed case is reported for 14 consecutive days. Thus, a ‘red zone’ can potentially become a ‘green zone’ if no new cases are reported for 28 consecutive days.

Follow our LIVE blog for the latest updates of the novel coronavirus pandemic

MHA has said, “containment operation would be deemed over when there is no case reported in 28 days from an area after the last case tests negative.”

Lockdown restrictions related to agriculture and industrial activities were eased to some extent in some non-hotspots and green zones of the country on April 20.

Click here for Moneycontrol’s full coverage of the novel coronavirus pandemic

Download your money calendar for 2022-23 here and keep your dates with your moneybox, investments, taxes

Moneycontrol News
first published: Apr 28, 2020 11:12 am
ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark