you are here: HomeNewsIndia


(1 to WIN)


    (1 to WIN)


      (1 to WIN)


        (1 to WIN)


          (1 to WIN)
            Live now
            AUTO REFRESH
            Dec 14, 2018 02:21 PM IST | Source: Moneycontrol.com

            Mizoram Election Results 2018 Highlights: MNF's Zoramthanga stakes claim to form govt

            Live updates of the 2018 Mizoram Assembly election results. The Mizo National Front is hoping to oust CM Lal Thanhawla-led Congress government in the state

            Mizoram had gone for polling in a single phase on November 28. The tenure of this Assembly will end on December 15, 2018. A political party needs to win 21 seats to secure a simple majority.

            The voter turnout in Mizoram was recorded at around 80 percent, against what was 83.41 percent in 2013. The single-phase voting happened after weeks of campaigning by state-level leaders from both sides and national level leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP National President Amit Shah and Congress President Rahul Gandhi.

            The Indian National Congress has been in power in the state since 2008. Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is hoping two win a third consecutive term. Congress is being challenged by the main opposition party Mizo National Front (MNF). The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has a limited presence in the North Eastern state and is hoping to open win a seat for the first time there.

            Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) and Zoram Peoples' Movement (ZPM) are two of the other key parties challenging the Congress. Mizoram is the last North Eastern state to have a Congress government.

            MNF’s charge is being led by former chief minister Zoramthanga.
            Read More
            Read Less

            • December 12, 2018 11:39 AM IST

            • December 11, 2018 10:16 PM IST

              Thank you for tuning in. This blog will continue to provide election-related updates and track latest developments from tomorrow morning.

            • December 11, 2018 06:29 PM IST
            • December 11, 2018 06:24 PM IST

              MNF President Zoramthanga has reached the Governor's residence to stake claim to form the government.

            • December 11, 2018 05:37 PM IST

              Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has submitted his resignation to the Governor K Rajasekharan, according to PTI.

            • December 11, 2018 04:30 PM IST
            • December 11, 2018 04:29 PM IST

              Zoramthanga, MNF President: We will not have any coalition government either with BJP or any other way because my party can form the government on its own. We have got 26 seats out of 40. We're a part of NEDA (North-East Democratic Alliance)  and NDA, but we wouldn't like to join Congress or UPA.

            • December 11, 2018 04:08 PM IST
            • December 11, 2018 04:06 PM IST

            • December 11, 2018 04:02 PM IST

              With six seats yet to be declared, the Mizo National Front has won 23 seats and is leading in three. It has a vote share of 37.6%.