Moneycontrol PRO
you are here: HomeNewsIndia
Live now
auto refresh
October 24, 2019 / 10:11 PM IST

Maharashtra Election Result 2019 highlights: Our work towards Maharashtra’s progress continues, tweets PM Modi

Live updates of the 2019 Maharashtra Vidhan Sabha election results. BJP, Shiv Sena cross majority mark in leads

Good morning! Hello and welcome to Moneycontrol’s LIVE coverage of the 2019 Maharashtra Assembly elections.

This LIVE blog will bring you the latest updates as votes are counted throughout the state and the results are declared.

According to the official data from the Election Commission (EC), BJP is leading in 99 seats. Shiv Sena is leading in 61 seats.

Congress and the NCP

are leading in 48 and 49 seats, respectively.

When are the results expected?

Counting of votes will begin at 8.00 am across Maharashtra. Just like the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the final results are expected to be slightly delayed as match of VVPAT slips would take time.

However, with known leads by around 11.00 am, the result is likely to be clear by early afternoon.

Voter turnout

Voter turnout for the Legislative Assembly election on October 21 (Monday) was recorded 61.1 percent, according to the Election Commission of India (EC).

This was lower than the 63.1 percent turnout recorded in 2014.

In Mumbai too, voting percentage was recorded at 50.5 percent, against the 51.2 percent in 2014 polls.

Here’s a low-down on the political situation in Maharashtra

Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is hoping to retain power in the heavily-industrialised state, along with its traditional ally – the Shiv Sena.

This National Democratic Alliance (NDA), locally known as ‘Maha-Yuti’, has been being challenged by the United Progressive Alliance (UPA) that mainly comprises the Congress and Sharad Pawar-led Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

The Congress-NCP alliance is locally known as ‘Maha-Aghadi’. Congress is being led by its Interim President Sonia Gandhi. Both alliances include other smaller partners.

Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena, Prakash Ambedkar’s Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi and Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM are also in fray.

During the campaign Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP National President Amit Shah, among other BJP leaders had held rallies extensively in the state.
  • October 25, 2019 / 12:50 AM IST

  • October 24, 2019 / 09:19 PM IST
  • October 24, 2019 / 08:47 PM IST
  • October 24, 2019 / 07:53 PM IST

    PM Modi: Now that you have given us the opportunity to serve you again, I would like to assure people of both states that we will work harder than before.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:50 PM IST

    PM Modi: In 2014, BJP and Shiv Sena came together after the election. It was the people’s decision. This time too, people of Maharashtra have elected us with a clear majority.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:50 PM IST

    PM Modi: Before 2014, BJP was always a junior party of the Shiv Sena in Maharashtra. For 50 years, no CM was able to serve the people for a full five-year term. Devendra Fadnavis got the opportunity to serve for full five years. Maharashtra and especially Mumbai contribute immensely to the country’s economy. Political stability is important there.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:41 PM IST

    PM Modi: These victories are rare as they (BJP governments in Maharashtra and Haryana) have managed to retain power and emerge as single-largest parties.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:39 PM IST

    PM Modi: BJP workers in Maharashtra and Haryana worked tirelessly. I would like to congratulate them.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:36 PM IST

    PM Modi is now addressing BJP workers.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:33 PM IST

    Amit Shah: In Modi 2.0, BJP has started by winning two Assembly election wins.

  • October 24, 2019 / 07:31 PM IST

    Amit Shah while addressing BJP workers at party headquarters: Our governments in Maharashtra and Haryana delivered for the people, in the last five years. BJP delivered corruption-free governments in the state.

  • October 24, 2019 / 06:50 PM IST

    Update: NCP's Ajit Pawar wins from Baramati Assembly Constituency. 

ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark