HomeSportsCricketWere India A robbed of a wicket against Pakistan? Veteran umpire passes verdict

Were India A robbed of a wicket against Pakistan? Veteran umpire passes verdict

Sub-Clause 19.5.2.1 states that the ball is immediately deemed a boundary when a fielder touches it while it is in the air outside the rope and subsequently lands outside.

November 18, 2025 / 16:38 IST
Story continues below Advertisement
Nehal Wadhera's catch was deemed illegal
Nehal Wadhera's catch was deemed illegal

A controversial moment marred the India A vs Pakistan Shaheens clash in the Asia Cup Rising Stars on Sunday, when a relay catch between Nehal Wadhera and Naman Dhir was overturned by the third umpire and ruled not out.

Following a major batting collapse, India A had set a modest target of 137 runs. With a superb fifty off 31 balls, opener Maaz Sadaqat led the Pakistan run chase.

Story continues below Advertisement

The pivotal moment came when Suyash Sharma forced Sadaqat to loft a shot towards deep field on the opening ball of the tenth over.

The controversial moment occurred when Nehal Wadhera chased the shot to the boundary and flicked the ball back into play while in the air outside the rope, and Naman Dhir made what looked to be a legitimate relay catch inside the field.