you are here: HomeNewsWorld

Pakistan Election Commission rejects nomination papers of Shahid Abbasi and Imran Khan

The candidates have vowed to challenge the decision in the election tribunal today.

June 20, 2018 / 09:01 AM IST

In a setback to bigwigs, Pakistan's election commission on June 19 rejected the nomination papers of former prime minister and PML-N leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chief Imran Khan for the NA-53 constituency of Islamabad.

The nomination papers of Abbasi and his covering candidate Sardar Mehtab Khan for NA-53 were rejected by the returning officer after the candidates failed to fill the affidavit as per the requirements, Dawn reported.

According to the returning officer, Abbasi had not submitted complete tax returns with his documents either.

The candidates have vowed to challenge the decision in the election tribunal today.

Khan's nomination papers for the same constituency were rejected on account of being incomplete.


His nomination papers were challenged earlier this month by Pakistan Justice and Democratic Party candidate Abdul Wahab Baloch, who contended that Khan did not fulfill the criterion under articles 62 and 63 on the issue of Sita White and her daughter Tyrian.

Although the returning officer rejected Baloch's objections against Khan's candidature, he turned down the PTI chief's papers saying he had submitted an incomplete affidavit as approved by the Supreme Court.

The officer said that Khan had not filled a column in the affidavit in which he was required to describe his performance as a Member of National Assembly (MNA).

Khan had served as MNA from NA-56 Rawalpindi.

There had been resentment in his constituency as he allegedly never visited it during his five-year term despite living in Banigala only a few kilometres away, the paper said.

Khan is also contesting from four other cities including Karachi, Lahore, Mianawali and Bannu. His nomination were accepted from three places but rejected from Mianawali on technical grounds.

All aspirants can file appeal against rejection of their nominations by June 22, and election tribunal will decide the appeals by June 27.

The revised lists of candidates will be published on June 28 whereas the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 29. The final list of contesting candidates is scheduled to be published on June 30.
first published: Jun 20, 2018 08:56 am

stay updated

Get Daily News on your Browser