Be a PRO & get up to 50% off on select brands. Explore Now
you are here: HomeNewsTrends

WhatsApp Privacy Policy: You will lose out on these features if you do not accept new terms

WhatsApp, in its FAQ section, has revealed a list of features that will be limited if users do not accept the new privacy policy.

May 11, 2021 / 09:22 AM IST
WhatsApp, in its FAQ section, has revealed the list of features that will be limited if users do not accept the new privacy policy.

WhatsApp, in its FAQ section, has revealed the list of features that will be limited if users do not accept the new privacy policy.

WhatsApp on May 7 scrapped its May 15 deadline for users to accept its controversial privacy policy update. The Facebook-owned messaging platform said not accepting the terms would not lead to the deletion of accounts. Users, however, will lose some of the features.

WhatsApp, in its FAQ section, has revealed the list of features that will be limited. Users who do not sign up will not be able to access their chat list. They can, however, answer incoming phone and video calls.

Users who have their WhatsApp notifications enabled can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call. After a few weeks of limited functionality, users will not be able to receive incoming calls or notifications. WhatsApp will also stop sending messages and calls to your phone.

The Facebook-owned messaging app announced a privacy policy update in January 2021, which was to come into effect on February 8. However, the messaging app faced severe backlash over concerns that data might be shared with parent company Facebook. Following this, the last date for accepting the policy update was pushed to May 15. Later, it was announced that the accounts of users who do not accept the new WhatsApp privacy policy will be deleted.

The company, on May 7, announced it would not delete accounts. "Our goal is to provide information about new options we are building that people will have, to message a business on WhatsApp, in the future. While the majority of users who have received the new terms of service have accepted them, we appreciate some people haven’t had the chance to do so yet. No accounts will be deleted on May 15 because of this update and no one in India will lose functionality of WhatsApp either,” a WhatsApp spokesperson said.
TAGS: #WhatsApp
first published: May 11, 2021 09:22 am

stay updated

Get Daily News on your Browser
Sections