Get App
you are here: HomeNewsTrends
Last Updated : Nov 13, 2019 10:52 AM IST | Source: Moneycontrol.com

Bug in Facebook opens camera app in the background for iOS users

The video reveals that when a user opens a photo and drags it down, the active camera viewfinder is seen on the left side of the screen.


Another day and troubles don't seem to end for Facebook. The social networking website has been on the receiving end due to a truckload of potential privacy and security-related issues throughout 2019. A new report suggests that the Facebook iOS app secretly turns on the camera in the background without the user’s knowledge.

iPhone users are reporting that the Facebook app is activating the camera app in the background while they are scrolling through the feed. The issue came to light after a user named Joshua Maddux shared a video that demonstrates the claim.

The video reveals that when a user opens a photo and drags it down, the active camera viewfinder is seen on the left side of the screen. Maddox claims that he reproduced the bug across five different iPhones running on iOS 13.2.2. However, he could not reproduce the same bug on iPhones running on iOS 12.

Close

Another way a user found out the bug was when they noticed the camera UI for Facebook stories appeared for a brief moment as they flipped the phone from portrait to landscape while watching a video. The user then flipped their phone back, and the app opened the Stories camera UI.


Facebook has acknowledged the bug and said it is already working on a fix. Guy Rosen, VP of Integrity at Facebook, tweeted, "We recently discovered our iOS app incorrectly launched in landscape. In fixing that last week in v246 we inadvertently introduced a bug where the app partially navigates to the camera screen when a photo is tapped. We have no evidence of photos/videos uploaded due to this."

The company will submit a fix to Apple that addresses a fix to both the bugs.

The bug works only when a user has given the camera and microphone access to the Facebook app. Users are advised to revoke permission for the camera and mic by disabling the respective toggles in the iPhone’s Settings app. Go to Settings, scroll down for a fair bit till you find Facebook in the list of third-party apps. Tap on the ‘Camera’ and ‘Microphone’ green toggle to disable.

Are you happy with your current monthly income? Do you know you can double it without working extra hours or asking for a raise? Rahul Shah, one of the India's leading expert on wealth building, has created a strategy which makes it possible... in just a short few years. You can know his secrets in his FREE video series airing between 12th to 17th December. You can reserve your free seat here.
First Published on Nov 13, 2019 10:52 am
Loading...
Follow us on
Available On