You may not have your account deleted but there are some things you should be aware off.
May 15, 2021 / 06:36 PM IST
A blog post
read, “For the last several weeks we've displayed a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update. After giving everyone time to review, we're continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent.”
The post also confirmed that after the persistent reminders, users will encounter “limited functionality on WhatsApp” until the policy has been accepted.What happens if you don’t accept the new terms of service?
- If the terms of service have not been accepted after the persistent reminders, then users will encounter limited functionality.
- To begin with, users won’t be able to access the chat list, although answering incoming calls will still be available. If notifications are enabled, then they can be tapped on to read and respond to messages.
- However, after another couple of weeks, WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to the device. Moreover, users won’t receive incoming calls or notifications.
- In the latest blog post, WhatsApp notes that users will be able to export their chats and download a report of their account on their own.
It is worth noting that WhatsApp will not delete the account if a user has not accepted the terms of service. WhatsApp existing policy related to inactive users will apply, which automatically deletes accounts after 120 days of inactivity.