Budget 2023Budget 2023


  • Tata AIA Life Insurance
  • Hafele
  • Motilal Oswal
  • SMC Global Securities Limited
Upcoming Event : LeapToUnicorn - mentoring, networking and fundraising for startups. Register now
Budget 2023
Budget 2023
you are here: HomeNewsPolitics

UP Election Results 2022: Dr Pallavi Patel defeats BJP's Keshav Prasad Maurya from Sirathu seat by 7337 votes

Deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya was pitted against SP's Pallavi Patel, daughter of Kurmi leader Sonelal Patel

March 10, 2022 / 10:23 PM IST
Keshav Prasad Maurya had won Sirathu for BJP in 2012. (PTI File photo)

Keshav Prasad Maurya had won Sirathu for BJP in 2012. (PTI File photo)

Dr Pallavi Patel wins Sirathu seat by 7337 votes. She defeated BJP's Keshav Prasad Maurya.

Contestants in the fray included BJP's Keshav Prasad Maurya, SP's Pallavi Patel, BSP's Munsab Ali, Congress' Seema Devi, AAP's Vishnu Kumar, Shiv Sena's Rajesh Kumar, Lok Dal's Rajendra Sonkar, AIMIM's Sher Mohammad and Bahujan Mukti Party's Dhiraj Kumar.

The sitting MLA is Sheetla Prasad from BJP who had defeated SP’s Vachaspati by more than 26,000 votes in the 2017 state elections. BSP’s candidate in that election, Saeedurrab had put up a good fight, coming third with 43,782 votes or 22.3% vote share.

This had been a BSP stronghold since the 1990s and it was Keshav Prasad who won it for BJP first, in 2012.