Get App
you are here: HomeNewsPolitics
Last Updated : May 09, 2019 04:33 PM IST | Source:

Lok Sabha polls Phase 6 | North East Delhi set for battle between two state unit chiefs

While BJP has retained incumbent MP, Congress and AAP have fielded former chief minister Sheila Dikshit and spokesperson Dilip Pandey, respectively

Nachiket Deuskar @PartTimeBowler
Images: Reuters (left) and Twitter/@BJP4Delhi (right)
Images: Reuters (left) and Twitter/@BJP4Delhi (right)

The National Capital Territory (NCT) is witnessing a three-way contest between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Indian National Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the Lok Sabha election.

Voting in all seven seats of Delhi will happen in a single phase on May 12.

The BJP is hoping to retain all seven seats it had won in 2014 amid the “Modi wave”.


Also read: Interesting battles to watch out for in Phase 6

Since then, a lot has changed in politics of Delhi. The AAP won the 2015 assembly election, clinching 67 out of the 70 seats. Banking on its performance at the state level and promise to get Delhi a ‘full statehood’ status, AAP is hoping to wrest these seats.

However, with no alliance between the Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP and Rahul Gandhi-led Congress, the anti-BJP votes stand to split. The BJP is banking on this fractured Opposition to repeat its 2014 performance.

One of the most interesting battles in Delhi and in the sixth phase of polling, is brewing the North East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

In the previous general election, BJP’s state unit chief Manoj Tiwari had won the seat with a margin of over 1.4 lakh votes. AAP’s Anand Kumar and Congress’ JP Agarwal finished second and third respectively.

Also read: Delhi to choose from celebrities, sportspersons and activists

The contenders

While BJP has retained its incumbent Member of Parliament (MP), Congress and AAP have fielded former chief minister Sheila Dikshit and spokesperson Dilip Pandey, respectively.

Tiwari is a popular Bhojpuri singer-actor. He had joined BJP in 2013 ahead of the assembly elections.

Dikshit is the Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee (DPCC) chief. She has been the longest-serving chief minister of Delhi, serving in the position from 1998 to 2013.

Pandey was AAP’s Delhi convener between 2014 and 2017. He had stepped down from the position after the party failed to make a mark in the 2017 Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) polls. The local body election had also seen the Congress regain some vote share it had lost to the AAP.

Also read: AAP's Atishi hopes to stump BJP's Gambhir in East Delhi

How do things stack up?

About 40 percent of the population in the constituency is from Purvanchal. Large sections of migrants largely live in unauthorised colonies. In fact, reports suggest that there are nearly 270 unauthorised colonies and over 46 slum clusters in the constituency. This makes the regularisation of unauthorised colonies a key issue here.

The Lok Sabha constituency comprises 10 Assembly segments — Burari, Babarpur, Ghonda, Gokalpur, Karawal Nagar, Mustafabad, Rohtash Nagar, Seemapuri, Seelampur and Timarpur. In 2015, AAP had won nine of these.

The constituency has around 23 percent Muslims, concentrated mainly in Ghonda, Mustafabad and Seelampur segments.

Also watch: Political Bazaar | How AAP, BJP, Congress are placed in Delhi

Lok Sabha polls: For the latest updates, analysis and opinions, click here

India Union Budget 2019: What does Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman have up her sleeve? Click here for top and latest Budget news, views and analyses.
First Published on May 9, 2019 04:33 pm
Follow us on
Available On
PCI DSS Compliant