you are here: HomeNewsPolitics
Last Updated : Mar 14, 2018 04:29 PM IST | Source:

Bihar bypoll results: RJD wins Jehanabad, leads in Araria while BJP leads in Bhabua

After two rounds of counting, Pradeep Kumar Singh of the saffron party was leading by 2,321 votes in the Araria seat, EC officials said.

Moneycontrol News @moneycontrolcom

Lalu Prasad Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) won Bihar’s Jehanabad Assembly constituency and was holding on to the Araria Lok Sabha constituency, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was holding the Bhabua Assembly seat, the latest bypoll results showed.

Here’s a break-down of what the latest situation is in the three bypoll seats in Bihar:

Araria (Lok Sabha seat)

After the 22nd round of counting, RJD’s Sarfaraz Alam was leading by around 57,791 votes, in the Araria Lok Sabha constituency. The counting here is still under way.

Jehanabad (Assembly seat)

RJD's Krishna Kumar Mohan, also known as Suyad Yadav defeated the Janata Dal (United)’s Abhiram Sharma by 35,036 votes, according to news reports.

Bhabua (Assembly seat)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Rinki Rani Pandey was leading by around 13,130 votes in Bhabua after the 20th round of counting. The counting in this constituency was still on.

Also check the latest results from the Uttar Pradesh bypolls here.

Araria Lok Sabha seat had seen a voter turnout of 57 percent while Jehanabad and Bhabua recorded 50.6 percent and 54.3 percent turnout, respectively.

The bypoll in Araria was necessitated due to the demise of RJD Member of Parliament (MP) Mohammad Taslimuddin.
First Published on Mar 14, 2018 04:14 pm
Follow us on
Available On