Webinar :Register now for Commodity Ki Paathshala webinar on ‘FPOs & Agriculture Marketing-The Beginning of a New Era’ on January 22, 4pm
you are here: HomeNewsIndia

Uddhav Thackeray sworn in as 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra

Uddhav took over as chief minister over a month after results of the Maharashtra Assembly elections were declared on October 24.

November 28, 2019 / 07:35 PM IST

Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray on November 28 took oath as the 18th Chief Minister of Maharashtra.

59-year old Uddhav became the third Sena leader after Manohar Joshi and Narayan Rane, and the first from the Thackeray clan to occupy the top post.

Uddhav took over as chief minister over a month after results of the Maharashtra Assembly elections were declared on October 24.

Eknath Shinde, Subhash Desai (both Shiv Sena), Jayant Patil, Chhagan Bhujbal (both NCP), Balasaheb Thorat and Nitin Raut (both Congress) were sworn in as ministers.

Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari administered oath to Thackeray and the six ministers at the ceremony held at Shivaji Park, the venue of Shiv Sena's Dussehra rallies.


For LIVE updates from Maharashtra, click here

Those present at the ceremony included NCP chief Sharad Pawar, senior Congress leaders Ahmed Patel and Mallikarjun Kharge, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath, MNS chief Raj Thackeray and DMK leader MK Stalin.

Former Maharashtra deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar, his cousin and MP Supriya Sule, Uddhav Thackeray's wife Rashmi, his MLA-son Aaditya and industrialist Mukesh Ambani's wife Nita were also among those who attended the ceremony.

No member of the BJP was present, except outgoing chief minister Devendra Fadnavis.

The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress formed the government after the Thackeray-led party fell out with pre-poll ally BJP over sharing the chief ministerial post.

The Assembly election was held on October 21 and its result was declared on October 24.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party winning 105 seats. The Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress won 56, 54 and 44 seats respectively in the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly.

Thursday's swearing in ceremony follows days of dramatic political developments, which included a three-day government formed by unexpected support from NCP leader Ajit Pawar, who has since returned to the Sharad Pawar-led party fold.

There was speculation that Ajit Pawar would be sworn in as deputy chief minister but only two NCP ministers took oath at the ceremony.

A special session of the 14th state Assembly was held here on November 27 where oath was administered to 285 newly- elected members by pro tem Speaker Kalidas Kolambkar who was appointed to the post by Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

In terms of number of terms, Thackeray will be the 29th chief minister of the state. He will also be the eighth person to take oath as Maharashtra chief minister while not being a legislator.

According to provisions of the Constitution, any leader who is not a member of the Assembly or Council has to become member of the legislature within six months of taking oath of the post.

With PTI inputs
Moneycontrol News

stay updated

Get Daily News on your Browser