you are here: HomeNewsIndia
Last Updated : Dec 09, 2018 08:15 AM IST | Source: PTI

Telangana Assembly Polls 2018: Final voter turnout registered at 73.20%

Hyderabad stood lowest in poll percentage at 48.89

Telangana has recorded a turnout of 73.20 percent in the assembly election on December 7, election authorities said.

The polling was largely peaceful and the counting of votes would be taken up on December 11.

The office of the state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) said on December 8 night that the highest turnout of voters was reported in Madhira Assembly constituency at 91.65 percent.

It was followed by Alair 91.33, Munugode 91.07, Narsapur 90.53, Bhongir 90.53 and Narsampet 90.06.

The lowest percentage of votes was polled in Charminar 40.18, followed by Yakutpura 41.24, Malakpet 42.74, Nampally 44.02, Jubilee Hills 45.61, Chandrayangutta 46.11 and Secunderabad Cantonment 49.05.

In district averages, Yadadri-Bhongir recorded the highest percentage of turnout at 90.95. Hyderabad stood lowest in poll percentage at 48.89.

CEO Rajat Kumar lamented that the urban areas, particularly Hyderabad, witnessed a low turnout of voters which was due to apathy of educated urban voters, according to a release from his office.

He said the delay in arriving at the overall percentage was due to various procedures and protocols which were to be followed by the polling officials.

Kumar claimed that some papers at the presiding officers level were found "misplaced" and not missing with regard to Karwan segment in Hyderabad. There was no need for re-poll in the particular polling stations of the Constituency.

The CEO said the political parties and candidates were welcome to keep a watch at the polled EVMs as well as unpolled electronic voting machines as he had taken permission from the Election Commission for that, according to the release.

Assembly Elections 2018: Read the latest news, views and analysis here
First Published on Dec 9, 2018 07:21 am
Follow us on
Available On
PCI DSS Compliant