Moneycontrol PRO
you are here: HomeNewsIndia

Sanjay Arora to be new Delhi Police Commissioner as Rakesh Asthana not granted any extension

Sanjay Arora, a 1988 Tamil Nadu batch IPS officer, succeeds Rakesh Asthana who has not been granted any extension

July 31, 2022 / 03:26 PM IST
(Pic: ANI)

(Pic: ANI)

Sanjay Arora is set to be the new commissioner of Delhi Police as the 1988 Tamil Nadu batch IPS officer succeeds Rakesh Asthana who has not been given any extension on August 1.

The Ministry of Home Affairs said, “In pursuance of the said approval, Sanjay Arora is hereby appointed as Commissioner of Police, Delhi with effect from 1 August or from the date of taking over charge whichever is later and till further orders."

Arora had been serving as director-general of Indo-Tibetan Border Police since September 2021. He was also given additional charge of Sashastra Seema Bal in 2021 after its chief Kumar Rajesh Chandra retired on December 31.

This is for the third time in recent history that an officer from outside AGMUT cadre has been brought to head the national capital's police force.

Asthana, a 1984-batch IPS officer, was appointed as Delhi's police commissioner in July 2021 while Ajay Raj Sharma, a 1966-batch Uttar Pradesh-cadre IPS officer, was appointed head of the Delhi Police in 1999.


Arora was appointed Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) DG in August last year and he has tenure in service till July 2025.

He served as Coimbatore police commissioner between 2002 and 2004 and has also served in the CRPF and the BSF.

He holds a B Tech degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering.

In a separate order, the home ministry said his tenure as DG ITBP has been curtailed and his inter-cadre deputation from the Tamil Nadu cadre to the AGMUT cadre will begin from the date of joining the AGMUT cadre and up to his date of superannuation i.e. up to July 31, 2025, or until further orders, whichever is earlier, in relaxation of inter-cadre deputation guidelines.

In yet another order, the home ministry said Director General of the SSB, S L Thaosen, a 1988-batch IPS officer of Madhya Pradesh, will hold additional charge of DG, ITBP till further order.

(With Inputs from PTI)
Moneycontrol News
first published: Jul 31, 2022 01:38 pm
ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark