you are here: HomeNewsIndia
Live now
May 30, 2019 11:36 AM IST | Source:

Odisha Assembly Election Result 2019 Highlights: Will have constructive relationship with Centre, says Naveen Patnaik

Live updates of the 2019 Odisha Vidhan Sabha election result.

Welcome to the LIVE coverage of the Odisha Assembly election result 2019. Counting of votes will happen today, on May 23.

Odisha simultaneously voted in Lok Sabha election 2019 and the Legislative Assembly polls in four phases. Phase 1 was held on April 11, Phase 2 on April 18, Phase 3 on April 23 and Phase 4 on April 29.

While the Odisha Legislative Assembly consists of 147 seats, election for the Patkura Assembly constituency was postponed by the Election Commission of India (EC) in the view of destruction caused by Cyclone Fani in April.

The half-way mark or the 'magic number' for the Odisha Assembly is 73.

Odisha has 21 Lok Sabha seats.

The state election is being considered as a triangular contest between the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress.

BJD supremo and four-time Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is looking to repeat his 2014 performance, when his party won 20 Lok Sabha seats and 117 assembly seats in the state.

Exit polls released on May 19 after the seventh and final phase of the general elections concluded have shown significant gains for the BJP in the state. While the exit polls have predicted a fifth term for Patnaik, they have also suggested an increase in BJP's Assembly seats from 10 in 2014, to around 20-40 this time.

In 2014, the BJP had managed to win only one Lok Sabha seat from Odisha, despite a 'Modi wave' across India. This time, exit polls have predicted that the saffron party would gain significantly from the state.

Meanwhile, the Congress, which won 16 seats during the 2014 Assembly polls and drew a blank in the national elections, is staring at a repeat this time too. The Grand Old Party is projected to win around 10-15 Assembly seats and zero to one Lok Sabha seats in the state.

If the exit poll projections hold, BJP is set to replace Congress as the main Opposition party in the state.
Read More
Read Less

  • May 23, 2019 09:13 PM IST

    Naveen Patnaik: I congratulate them (BJP). I rang up the prime minister in the morning and congratulated him. We will have a constructive relationship with the central government for the development and welfare of Odisha.

  • May 23, 2019 09:12 PM IST

    Naveen Patnaik: I would like to express deep gratitude to people of our state who showered their blessings on BJD. I would also like to thank leaders and workers of the party who worked hard. I want to thank particularly women of Odisha who came out in large numbers to vote for us.

  • May 23, 2019 08:06 PM IST

    PM Modi is addressing BJP workers at the party headquarters in Delhi. This is his first speech after the election victory.

    Catch the LIVE updates here

  • May 23, 2019 07:27 PM IST

    Opinion | BJP’s Operation East India: The secret behind its victory lap

    “BJP’s impressive show in Odisha and West Bengal is a wake-up call for the respective chief ministers. Its next pit stop is the state Assembly,” Rajeev Sharma writes for Moneycontrol.

    Read the full story here

  • May 23, 2019 07:24 PM IST

    Election result | Here's how the vote share is stacked as of 19.22 pm:
    BJD: 44.6 percent
    BJP: 32.5 percent
    Congress: 16.1 percent

    Counting is still on
    Source: Election Commssion

  • May 23, 2019 07:06 PM IST

    Governor Ganeshi Lal congratulates Naveen Patnaik ##

  • May 23, 2019 07:04 PM IST

    While Patnaik's BJD has managed to secure another term in the state, BJP is celebrating the national mandate. BJP workers have gathered at the party headquarters in Delhi. Party President Amit Shah is expected to address the cadre. PM Modi is also expected to address the crowd.

    Catch the LIVE udpates here

  • May 23, 2019 07:00 PM IST

    Election results | Here are the latest leads as of 7.00 pm, according to EC:
    BJP: 22
    BJD: 113
    Congress: 9
    CPI(M): 1
    Independent: 1

  • May 23, 2019 06:47 PM IST

    CM Patnaik congratulates PM Modi, BJP on Lok Sabha polls win ##