Moneycontrol PRO
Upcoming Webinar:Moneycontrol Pro in association with Quants League Sep'21 Edition brings to you to 5-Days Live Algorithmic Options Trading Virtual Conference. Register Now!
you are here: HomeNewsIndia

JK govt declares entire Kashmir valley, 2 district of Jammu in red zone

The classification of districts was given in an order issued by Chief Secretary BVR Subrahmanyam on Sunday night.

May 04, 2020 / 01:07 PM IST

The Jammu and Kashmir administration has declared the entire Kashmir valley and three districts of Jammu region as "red zone" based on an overall assessment of the coronavirus situation and expected movement of stranded persons to the union territory.

The classification of districts was given in an order issued by Chief Secretary BVR Subrahmanyam on Sunday night.

The Union Health Ministry had classified four districts of Jammu and Kashmir - Srinagar, Bandipora, Anantnag and Shopian -- in the red zone.

The Centre has allowed the administration of States and Union Territories (UTs) to classify additional districts as red or orange zones. However, States and UTs are not allowed to lower the zone classification of a district.

As per the order issued by the Jammu and Kashmir administration, entire Kashmir valley, which comprises ten districts has been declared as red zone.


COVID-19 Vaccine

Frequently Asked Questions

View more
How does a vaccine work?

A vaccine works by mimicking a natural infection. A vaccine not only induces immune response to protect people from any future COVID-19 infection, but also helps quickly build herd immunity to put an end to the pandemic. Herd immunity occurs when a sufficient percentage of a population becomes immune to a disease, making the spread of disease from person to person unlikely. The good news is that SARS-CoV-2 virus has been fairly stable, which increases the viability of a vaccine.

How many types of vaccines are there?

There are broadly four types of vaccine — one, a vaccine based on the whole virus (this could be either inactivated, or an attenuated [weakened] virus vaccine); two, a non-replicating viral vector vaccine that uses a benign virus as vector that carries the antigen of SARS-CoV; three, nucleic-acid vaccines that have genetic material like DNA and RNA of antigens like spike protein given to a person, helping human cells decode genetic material and produce the vaccine; and four, protein subunit vaccine wherein the recombinant proteins of SARS-COV-2 along with an adjuvant (booster) is given as a vaccine.

What does it take to develop a vaccine of this kind?

Vaccine development is a long, complex process. Unlike drugs that are given to people with a diseased, vaccines are given to healthy people and also vulnerable sections such as children, pregnant women and the elderly. So rigorous tests are compulsory. History says that the fastest time it took to develop a vaccine is five years, but it usually takes double or sometimes triple that time.

View more

In Jammu region, three districts of Jammu, Samba and Kathua are in red zone, it said.

While four districts of Jammu region - Udhampur, Reasi, Ramban and Rajouri - are in orange zone, Doda, Kishtwar and Poonch are in green zone.

The other guidelines issued by the chief secretary were more or less based on the MHA order issued on May 1 for the third phase of lockdown from May 4 to May 17.

As per the guidelines, the government has allowed movement of individuals in vehicles only for permitted activities, with a maximum of two passengers, besides the driver in four-wheelers, and with no pillion rider in case of two-wheelers.

Intra-district movement of individuals is also allowed in orange zone in individual vehicles with similar restriction of passengers in four and two-wheelers, on the basis of passes issued by the district authority. Taxi and cab aggregators are permitted to ply with one driver and two passengers only while e-commerce activities (home delivery etc) are permitted for essential services and goods," the order said,

"Private offices can operate with up to 33 per cent strength as per the requirement with remaining persons working from home, the order said.

In green zone districts, all activities which are permitted in orange zone will be allowed, it said.

Other activities permitted in green zones included the opening of all shops except those prohibited across the Union Territory.

The activities which will remain prohibited in the entire UT include all domestic and international air travel of passengers, except for medical services, air ambulance, security purposes or for purposes permitted by the Ministry of Home Affairs.

All schools, colleges, universities, educational and training coaching institutions etc. will also remain closed across the UT till March 17 but online and distance learning will be permitted.

All passenger movement by trains, except for security purposes or for purposes permitted by the MHA will remain prohibited, the order said.

As per the government order, all cinema halls, shopping malls, gymnasiums, sports complexes, swimming polls, entertainment parks, theatres, bars, liquor shops, restaurants, auditoriums, assembly halls and similar places will remain shut.

The movement of individuals for all non-essential activities has been prohibited between 7 pm and 7 am.

The order said district magistrates will issue specific prohibitory orders under Section 144 of CrPC. However, persons above 65 years of age and those with co-morbidities, pregnant women and children below the age of 10 years will stay at home except for meeting essential requirements or for health purposes.

Hospitality services other than those used for housing health, police, Government officials, healthcare workers, stranded persons and quarantine facilities will remain closed.

All social, political, sports, entertainment, academic, cultural, religious functions and other gatherings will remain prohibited in the entire UT. All religious places and place of worship will be closed for public. Religious congregations are strictly prohibited, it said.
first published: May 4, 2020 01:07 pm

stay updated

Get Daily News on your Browser
ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark