Moneycontrol PRO
UPCOMING EVENT:Watch leaders discuss the biggest issue of our times at the Sustainability 100+ Summit. Register now!
you are here: HomeNewsIndia

Bank holidays in October 2021: Branches to remain closed for up to 21 days; check state-wise list

There are in all 21 bank holidays in October 2021. While public holidays will apply to all public and private banks across the country, some will be regional holidays that will be restricted to certain states only and decided by respective state governments

September 26, 2021 / 10:37 AM IST
Representative image (Source: ShutterStock)

Representative image (Source: ShutterStock)

Public and private banks will remain shut for 21 days in October including on weekends and festivals. According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) guidelines, while all banks remain closed on public holidays, regional holidays are restricted to certain states only and decided by respective state governments.

While the bank branches will remain closed on these days, mobile and internet banking will remain functional as usual.

Full list of bank holidays in October 2021:

October 1 - Half Yearly Closing of Bank Accounts (Sikkim)

October 2 - Gandhi Jayanti (Pan India)


October 3 - Sunday

October 6 - Mahalaya Amavasye (West Bengal, Tripura, Karnataka)

October 7 - Mera Chaoren Houba of Lainingthou Sanamahi (Tripura, West Bengal, Meghalaya)

October 9 - 2nd Saturday

October 10 - Sunday

October 12 - Durga Puja (Maha Saptami) / (West Bengal, Tripura)

October 13 - Durga Puja (Maha Ashtami) / (West Bengal, Sikkim, Bihar, Jharkhand, Odisha, Manipur, Tripura, Assam )

October 14 - Durga Puja/Dussehra (Maha Navami)/Ayutha Pooja (West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Tamil Nadu, Sikkim, Puducherry, Odisha, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Kerala, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Bihar, Assam)

October 15 - Durga Puja/Dasara/Dusshera (Vijaya Dashmi) / (National except for Manipur, Himachal Pradesh)

October 16 - Durga Puja (Dasain) / (Sikkim)

October 17 - Sunday

October 18 - Kati Bihu (Assam)

October 19 - Id-E-Milad/Eid-e-Miladunnabi/Milad-i-Sherif (Prophet Mohammad’s Birthday)/Baravafat (Nation except for Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Jammu, Kashmir, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Delhi, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand )

October 20 - Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday/Lakshmi Puja/Id-E-Milad (Tripura, Punjab, West Bengal, Karnataka, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh)

October 22 - Friday following Eid-i-Milad-ul-Nabi (Jammu and Kashmir )

October 23 - 4th Saturday

October 24 - Sunday

October 26 - Accession Day (Jammu and Kashmir)

October 31 - Sunday
Moneycontrol News
first published: Sep 25, 2021 02:49 pm

stay updated

Get Daily News on your Browser
ISO 27001 - BSI Assurance Mark