you are here: HomeNewsCricket
Last Updated : Feb 12, 2018 05:54 PM IST | Source:

SA vs IND, 5th ODI: Kohli's men take another shot at history in Port Elizabeth

Having suffered from a blip on Saturday, the visitors will be hoping to seal the series at the St. George's Park in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday.

Having suffered from a blip on Saturday, the otherwise tidy Indian team will take another shot at history when they play hosts South Africa at the St. George's Park in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday.

India already lead the six-match One Day International (ODI) series 3-1 and need to register just one win in the next two matches to bag their first ODI series triumph on South African soil.

Quick recap

On Saturday, the Proteas stalled India's chances of dusting off the series by registering a five-wicket win in the fourth ODI.

India batted first and put 289 runs on the board for the loss of seven wickets. Shikhar Dhawan went on to score 109 off 105 balls, to complete his 13th ODI ton. Skipper Virat Kohli scored 75 (83) while MS Dhoni made useful contribution of 42 (43).

South Africa made 43/1 in 7.2 overs before rain paused play. The Proteas were given a revised target of 202 to win in 28 overs. Helped by contributions from AB de Villiers' 26 (18), David Miller's 39 (28) and Heinrich Klaasen's match winning knock of unbeaten 43 off 27. Andile Phehlukwayo also scored quick-fire 23 off 5 balls.

In what could be a replay of the 'Pink Match' from Saturday, weather reports suggest chances of scattered showers in Port Elizabeth on Tuesday.

Expecting the spin

Historically, St. George's Park has aided spinners. In the two ODIs played at the venue, the South African spinners performed well. In January 2017, Imran Tahir took 3-26 against Sri Lanka.

In October 2016, Tabraiz Shamsi picked up 3-36 against Australia while South Africa also picked a second spinner in Aaron Phangiso who took 2-17.

While Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal, who are also being called 'Kul-Cha', are bowling flawlessly, India could end up missing an additional spinner in Kedar Jadhav due to his injury. While Jadhav is a part timer, he is adept at bowling slow spin. Rohit Sharma has not bowled in an ODI since January 2016.

India's deficient record in 'The Windy City'

The Proteas have lost 11 out of the 32 matches played at the venue, with six of those losses coming in the last ten years.

India has lost all five ODIs they have played here since 1992. Four of those defeats came against South Africa, while one came against Kenya during the tri-series in 2001-02.

In fact, India has never scored 200 runs here in five previous ODI outings in Port Elizabeth. Their 176 against South Africa in October 2001 is their highest total yet at the venue.


South Africa: Aiden Markram (Captain), AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khaya Zondo, Farhaan Behardien and Heinrich Klaasen (wk).

India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur.

Match date and time: 16:30 IST, Tuesday, February 13 | St. George's Park in Port Elizabeth

(With PTI inputs)
First Published on Feb 12, 2018 05:54 pm
Follow us on
Available On