you are here: HomeNewsCricket
Last Updated : Feb 15, 2018 03:38 PM IST | Source:

SA v IND, 6th ODI: India target 5-1 scoreline as Proteas grapple for consolation

Aiden Markram's men would be hoping to end the ODI series on a high before the T20Is. But, Kohli & Co. would want to end the series with a 5-1 scoreline.

Having clinched the six-match One Day International (ODI) series, India will be hoping to win the final match against South Africa at SuperSport Park, Centurion on Friday.

The visitors' only loss in the series came in the rain-affected ODI at the 'Bullring' in Johannesburg.


Rohit Sharma led India's batting attack on Tuesday with a 126-ball 115, with some help from the Proteas' Tabraiz Shamsi who dropped him when he was on 96. Shikhar Dhawan, skipper Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer contributed with 30-odd runs each, to take India's total to 274/7. Lungi Ngidi picked four wickets for 51 runs in his nine overs.

In reply, the Proteas made a steady start with Hashim Amla scoring 71 runs upfront. Captain Aiden Markram scored 32 runs before JP Duminy and AB de Villiers got out without too many runs to their names. While David Miller and Heinrich Klaasen scored 36 and 39 respectively, Kuldeep Yadav's 4-57 turned the match in India's favour.

With this win, India toppled South Africa to claim the top ODI ranking too.

The stage

The temperature in Centurion is expected to be around 27 degree Celsius. However, weather reports suggest that there are heavy chances of rain disrupting the match.

The second ODI in the series had also taken place at SuperSport Park, which India won by nine wickets. However, it remains to be seen what role the pitch will play this time.

The Proteas would be hoping to finish this ODI series on a high to help boost their chances in the three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series, which will begin on Sunday.

However, India will be aiming at an unprecedented 5-1 win in the ODI series. Skipper Kohli could also be eyeing the match to test the bench strength with just over a year to go for the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), MS Dhoni (wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur.

South Africa: Aiden Markram (Captain), Hashim Amla, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khayelihle Zondo and Farhaan Behardien.

Match date and time: 16:30 IST, Friday, February 16 | SuperSport Park, Centurion

(With PTI inputs)
First Published on Feb 15, 2018 03:38 pm
Follow us on
Available On