you are here: HomeNewsBusiness
Last Updated : May 17, 2018 02:18 PM IST | Source:

Karnataka Elections 2018: 11 seats where BJP lost by a margin of under 3000 votes

Among the seats where the victory decision was made by fewer than 3,000 votes, included Badami, one of the two constituencies where incumbent chief minister Siddaramaiah was contesting

Moneycontrol News @moneycontrolcom

BJP's BS Yeddyurappa, finally took oath today morning after a night of drama that saw India's biggest political parties running pillar to post in an effort to grab power.

Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) were left dejected after the Governor invited Yeddyurappa to form a government and prove majority within 15 days.

The Bhartiya Janata Party won 104 of the 222 seats on which elections were held on Saturday, falling eight short of the majority mark in the house.

However, if results of 11 tightly-contested constituencies had gone in favour of the BJP it would have saved them the effort of churning up the numbers.

These 11 constituencies are where BJP lost with a victory margin of fewer than 3,000 votes.

Out of them, in three constituencies, the margin was fewer than 1,000 votes.

Among the seats where the victory decision was made by fewer than 3,000 votes, included Badami, one of the two constituencies where former chief minister Siddaramaiah was contesting. He won by mere 1,696 votes, defeating BJP’s B Sreeramulu.

The other seat that he contested, Chamundeshwari in Mysuru, Siddaramaiah lost by a whopping margin of 36,042 votes to Janata Dal-Secular candidate GT Deve Gowda.
Constituency Winning candidate Losing Candidate Vote Margin
Athani Mahesh Iranagouda Kumathalli Laxman Sangappa Savadi 2331
Badami Siddaramaiah B Sreeramulu 1696
Bellary B Nagendra Sanna Pakkirappa 2679
Hirekerur Basavanagouda Patil Ujaneshwara Banakar 555
Jamkhandi Siddu Bhimappa Nyamgoud Kulkarni Shrikant Subrao 2795
Kundgol Channabasappa Sathyappa Shivalli Chikkanagoudra Siddanagoud Ishwaragod 634
Maski Pratapgouda Patil Basanagowda Turvihal 213
Sringeri TD Rajegowda DN Jeevaraj 1989
Vijay Nagar M Krishnappa H Ravindra 2775
Yellapur Arabail Hebbar Shivaram Andalagi Veerabhadragouda Shivanagouda Patil 1483
Yemkanmardi Satish L Jarkiholi Astagi Maruti Mallappa 2850

All seats where BJP lost by less than 3000 votes, Congress party candidates were declared winners. Source: Election Commission of India

The seats of Hirekerur, Kundgol, and Maski were decided by a few hundred votes. Pratapgouda Patil won by 213 votes from Maski defeating Basanagowda Turvihal, Basavanagouda Patil won by 555 votes from Hirekerur defeating Ujaneshwara Banakar and Channabasappa Sathyappa Shivalli won by 634 votes from Kundgol defeating Chikkanagoudra Siddanagoud Ishwaragod.

BJP needs at least eight more MLAs to form a majority government. The options ahead of the party include either break away one-third of elected members of either of the two other parties in the state, Congress and JD(S), before the floor test.
First Published on May 17, 2018 02:18 pm
Follow us on
Available On
PCI DSS Compliant