you are here: HomeNewsBusiness
Last Updated : Sep 08, 2017 05:33 PM IST | Source:

India's first no-fly list norms out, aims to make flying safer

The no-fly list comes in the wake of several unruly incidents on airlines involving mainly Members of Parliament misbehaving with airline staff.

The Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) issued new norms pertaining to the no-fly list, aiming to make air travel safer by getting hold of unruly passengers.

Civil Aviation Minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju tweeted about this development and said that it will be released on September 8, Friday.

The no-fly list norms aim to tackle unruly passengers and will ban these passengers from travelling by air between 2 months to 2 years. The list defines 3 levels of unruly behaviour by passengers.

The DGCA allows passengers on a no-fly list to approach the appellate authority to challenge the ban. The panel will consist of a retired judge and representatives of the consumer forum and airlines. It will have to decide on appeals in a time-bound manner within 30 days. The panel's decision can be challenged in High Courts.

Under the norms, three behaviours will be considered unruly. The first is physically abusing somebody which can attract a three month ban from flying; the second is sexual harassment attracting a six month ban; the third is for 2 years when actions related to life for threatening behaviour, including damage to the aircraft and property.

The no-fly list was first highlighted when Shiv Sena MP Ravindra Gaikwad assaulted an Air India crew member. The ban was lifted after he apologised to the airline.

Moneycontrol had reported in April about the government's plan to notify rules for instituting a no-fly list.

(With inputs from News18 and CNBC TV-18)
First Published on Sep 8, 2017 02:12 pm
Follow us on
Available On