Nov 05, 2012 05:45 PM IST | Source: Overdrive

Joshua, Naresh, the 2012 Gulf National Dirt Track champions

Joshua, Naresh, the 2012 Gulf National Dirt Track champions

The final leg of the Gulf National Dirt Track 2012 championship was held in Nashik with Joshua Pramod and Naresh VS being crowned champions in their respective categories. The latter was assured of winning the title in the Private Expert Class for 260cc 2 & 4 stroke bikes, mainly because of his wins in all the previous legs, garnering 160 points. However, he couldn't win both the races in the fifth round in Nashik, winning just the second one. Overall, he finished with 197 points.

While Naresh's triumph was a foregone conclusion, there was a battle royal in the class for Foreign Motorcycles upto 260 cc as just a few points separated the first three riders in contention for overall honours. Harith Noah led the class with 132 points while his TVS teammates R Natraj and Pramod Joshua were just behind on 130. Joshua though stole the show, winning both the races to finish on 170 points overall with Noah and Natraj on 166 and 145 points respectively.

Joshua however wasn't content with this win and he went on to take top honours in the Indian Expert class 260cc 2 & 4 stroke. He finished with 170 points while second placed Natraj collected 152 points and S Madhu at third with 149 points. Yuva Kumar, who was astride a TVS Victor won the first race in the novice class for motorcycles upto 130cc 4-stroke. The first place finish enabled Yuva to swell his points tally to 89 and seal the title in the category. Abhijit Shetty, astride a TVS Apache RTR, had the consolation of winning the novice class for motorcycles upto 131cc upto 165cc 4-stroke. Yuva Kumar and Jagdeesh Kumar were placed second and third respectively.

tags #Wheels

Follow us on
Available On